2007-AUG > Agricultural Advisory Board Appointment

At the August 6th Meeting of the Franklin County, NC Board of Commissioners, Bob Radcliffe was appointed to serve a three-year term on the Franklin County Agricultural Advisory Board (term expires June 30, 2010).

The Agricultural Advisory Board was established when the Franklin County Voluntary Agricultural District Ordinance was enacted pursuant to authority conferred by the Farmland Preservation enabling Act, Article 61, N.C.G.S. Sections 106-735 through 106-744 and Chapter 153A.

The Agricultural Board consists of ten members representing each of the townships in Franklin County. Bob Radcliffe represents Hayesville Township. Members provide a broad representation of the County’s agricultural segments.

The purpose of the Ordinance and Board is to:

  • promote agricultural values and the general welfare of Franklin county
  • increase the identity and pride in the agricultural community and its way of life
  • encourage the economic and financial health of agriculture
  • increase protection from non-farm development and other negative impacts on properly managed farms

Monthly Board Meetings are held on the 3rd Tuesday of every month at the Agricultural Services Center in Louisburg, NC.

Please direct any agricultural issues in Hayesville Township to Bob.

Lynch Creek Farm is in the Franklin County Voluntary Agricultural District.


At the June 16, 2008 monthly Ag Board Meeting, Bob Radcliffe was elected Chairman to follow Ed Wheeler who stepped down to become Vice-Chairman. Ingrid Volk remained as Secretary/Treasurer. Ed Wheeler served as Chairman since 2003 when the Voluntary Agricultural District (VAD) statute was enacted for Franklin County.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *